World Champs! Hawaii defeats 3-0 South Korea in Little League World Series Championship

Updated: Aug. 26, 2018 at 2:46 PM HST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The Honolulu Little League team put the state on its back and are now world champions after defeating South Korea in the Little League World Series Championship game, 3-0.

Hawaii was able to break the deadlock in the bottom of the first on their first swing of the game when Mana Lau Kong hit a lead-off solo home run to center field to go up 1-0.

Taylin Oana and Zachary Won would go on to score on a South Korea error, putting the game out of reach.

Ka'olu Holt earned the victory on the mound striking out eight batters while allowing just two hits in six innings.

President Obama even reached out on Twitter to congratulate the team.

With the LLWS victory, Hawaii has now won three world championships since 2005 (Ewa Beach 2005, Waipio 2008.)

Copyright 2018 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.