These candidates will be elected today with a single vote

Voters head to polls for Hawaii's primary election
Updated: Aug. 11, 2018 at 4:25 PM HST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - There are 17 state legislative candidates running unopposed in the primary election, 16 in the state House and one in the state Senate.

An even larger number will win their seats outright on Saturday night because only one party fielded candidates in the race.

There are four winner-take-all races in the state Senate and another 16 in the state house.

In all, that means the primary election will fill 32 seats in 51-member the state House and five in the 25-member senate.

Unopposed candidates elected Saturday:

Senate District 16: Breene Harimoto (D) House District 4: Joy San Buenaventura (D) House 6: Nicole Lowen (D) House 14: Nadine Nakamura House 19: Bert Kobayashi House 21: Scott Nishimoto House 24: Della Belatti House 25: Sylvia Luke House 26: Scott Saiki House 28: John Mizuno House 31: Aaron Johanson House 32: Linda Ichiyama House 34: Gregg Takayama House 35: Roy Takumi House 38: Henry Aquino House 39: Ty Cullen House 45: Lauren Matsumoto Cheape (R)

Copyright 2018 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.