The first 9 rail stations on Oahu now have their official names

Updated: Feb. 22, 2018 at 2:18 PM HST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

OAHU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation announced the official names of all nine rail stations on the Ewa side of Oahu Thursday.

The names were proposed by the Hawaiian Station Names Working Group, a small committee whose main purpose is to research and produce Hawaiian names for the rail stations.

The names of the nine stations are; Kualakai at the Kroc Center, Keoneae near UH West Oahu, Honouliuli in Ho'opili, Hoaeae in West Loch, Pouhala near the Waipahu Transit Center, Halaulani near Leeward Community college, Waiawa in Pearl Highlands, Kalauao in Pearlridge and Halawa near Aloha Stadium.

The preliminary list for the remaining twelve rail stations is expected to release later this year.

Copyright 2018 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.