Ige defeats Aiona to win Hawaii governor's race

Ige defeats Aiona to win Hawaii governor's race
Published: Nov. 4, 2014 at 9:07 PM HST|Updated: Nov. 5, 2014 at 9:42 AM HST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - Democratic candidate David Ige has been elected as the next governor of Hawaii, defeating Republican candidate James "Duke" Aiona and Independent candidate Mufi Hannemann.

With 247 precincts reporting, Ige held a 12-percentage point lead over Aiona when the fourth results printout was released late Tuesday evening.

Ige's 181,065 votes totaled 49 percent of the votes collected so far, compared to 135,742 votes for Aiona.

Mufi Hannemann, who ran as an independent, had received 42,925 votes.

For complete results of every major race in the 2014 general election, click here.

Stay with Hawaii News Now on-air and online for continuing coverage of the 2014 general election. Share your thoughts on the election results with us on our Twitter and Facebook pages.

To sign up to receive breaking news alerts on your smartphone, download the Hawaii News Now mobile apps for iPhone, iPad and Android.

Copyright 2014 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.