© Flickr Creative Commons User: Brendahawk
© Flickr Creative Commons User: Brendahawk
Manti Te'o added three more coveted awards to a growing and already impressive collection on Thursday, including two that are given annually to the sport's best overall player.

Two days before the winner of college football's most famous trophy is set to be announced in New York City, Te'o was at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida for the Home Depot College Football Awards.

There, Te'o beat out South Carolina's Jadeveon Clowney and Georgia's Jarvis Jones to win the Chuck Bednarik Award, given annually to college football's best defensive player

He wasn't done yet.

In the last award presentation of the afternoon, Te'o was given the Maxwell Award, given to the best player in college football that season. He beat out Kansas State's Collin Klein and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, his Heisman Trophy competition.

Te'o is the first defensive player to win since 1980.

Earlier on Thursday afternoon, Te'o won the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, becoming just the third defensive player to win the trophy given annually to the best player in college football, as voted upon by the nation's 124 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

"Manti Te'o's performance on and off the football field has made him an outstanding recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award," said John Marks, President of the Walter Camp Football Foundation. "His consistency, leadership, and perseverance have been trademarks of the Fighting Irish's outstanding 2012 season."

On Saturday, Te'o could add the sport's most coveted award to his collection when the Heisman Trophy is handed out in New York City. Hawaii News Now's Steve Uyehara and Mike Cherry are in New York reporting live in the days leading up to the awards ceremony.

Te'o and top-ranked Notre Dame will play second-ranked Alabama  in the BCS National Championship Game on January 7.
Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.