Hawaii Board of Education approves evaluation plan

Published: Apr. 17, 2012 at 8:18 PM HST|Updated: Apr. 17, 2012 at 10:53 PM HST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn
BOE vice chairperson Brian De Lima
BOE vice chairperson Brian De Lima
Governor Neil Abercrombie
Governor Neil Abercrombie

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The Board of Education voted in favor of creating new educator evaluations at a meeting on Tuesday afternoon. The members unanimously approved three policies tied to performance evaluation systems for teachers and principals. This comes after the state and the Hawaii State Teachers Association failed to reach a contract deal that included a new evaluation system and performance-based pay.

The policies will focus on educator effectiveness through professional development and compensation linked to job performance. HSTA's executive director testified against the changes. He said he supports the intent, but has concerns about some of the language. The union is also restarting negotiations with the state tomorrow on a new contract.

"Give us an opportunity to work it out through our contract and we would be more than happy to support the policies," said HSTA executive director Alvin Nagasako.

The evaluation systems will be subject to due process provisions in HSTA's and HGEA's collective bargaining agreements.

"In the policies that we're going to be considering today, it mandates that teachers are involved. It mandates compliance with collective bargaining laws and due process rights of the employees," explained BOE vice chairperson Brian De Lima.

"One of the best things we did I think was go to the appointed board. I'm very, very pleased. These folks are obviously mission-oriented. They're policy-oriented and they're acting on it," said Governor Neil Abercrombie.

The Department of Education is piloting its teacher evaluation program in 18 schools. That figure will jump to 81 in the next school year.

The changes approved are set to begin at Hawaii's roughly 255 public schools in the 2013-2014 school year.

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.