Hawaii holds first-ever GOP Presidential Caucus

Published: Mar. 13, 2012 at 8:01 AM HST|Updated: Mar. 14, 2012 at 2:42 AM HST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn
GOP Presidential candidates
GOP Presidential candidates

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - For the first time, Hawaii Republicans will vote on their choice of Republican Presidential nominees Tuesday night.

Hawaii is one of four states holding primaries or caucuses Tuesday, and all four GOP candidates including Newt Gingrich, Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, and Rick Santorum will be on the ballot.

Tuesday ushers in a new era in Hawaii politics where Republican voters, rather than a select few at the state convention, will decide their Presidential nominee.

Voting sites are set up for all 51 State House Districts as well as Molokai, Lanai, and Hana so that every Republican in the state will be able to participate.  The voting will occur on Tuesday from 6 to 8 p.m.

To participate, all voters must show photo ID. Every voter will be required to fill out a Hawaii Republican Party card in order to participate.

Voters who do not show up on the State Voter List will be able to register and vote on the spot with ID showing their Hawaii address.

Hawaii has 20 delegates up for grabs with 17 of them awarded to candidates as a percentage of the vote they capture tonight at the polls. The remaining three delegates belong to the State Party Chairman, as well as the Republican Party State Committeeman and Committeewoman.

Click on this link for more information about the Hawaii Caucus.

A list of voting locations can be found here.

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All Rights Reserved