Three Oahu schools recognized as national Blue Ribbon Schools

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) – Three Oahu schools have been recognized by the US Department of Education as Blue Ribbon Schools. Ewa Beach Elementary, Momilani Elementary and the Royal School have been named as recipients of the award.

The program honors public and private schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

"The education situation in Hawaii is extremely challenging as teachers, students, and parents deal with shrinking budgets and the lingering effects of furlough Fridays.  I would like to extend my sincere congratulations to these fine schools and to the students, teachers, parents and support staff who worked through fiscal hardship to ensure that our next generation of leaders receives the knowledge and guidance they require," said Senator Inouye. 

The principal and one teacher from each of the schools has been invited to Washington DC in November to receive the award. Each school will receive a plaque and a flag to signify their status.

Copyright 2010 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.