TONIGHT: Watch the Na Hoku Hanohano Awards live on K5 and online

The annual awards show is happening this week Wednesday in Waikiki.
The annual awards show is happening this week Wednesday in Waikiki.(HNN)
Published: Jul. 19, 2022 at 4:30 PM HST|Updated: Jul. 20, 2022 at 10:10 PM HST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The 45th annual Na Hoku Hanohano Awards is now live in Waikiki and you can catch all of the action live on K5 and streaming across HNN’s digital platforms.

Tune into K5 to watch the main show.

Or watch both the pre-show and main show across HNN’s digital platforms:

The Na Hoku Hanohano Awards are often hailed as the Grammys of Hawaiian music.

The event recognizes local artists in an array of genres, and celebrates the community’s effort to preserve and expand Hawaiian music. Some notable nominees this year include three-time Grammy winner Kalani Pe’a, who is in the running for Album, Music Video and Song of the Year, along with Male Vocalist of the Year.

[SPECIAL SECTION: Na Hoku Hanohano Awards]

University of Hawaii group The Tuahine Troupe earned an impressive eight nominations with the recording of their very first album, Keāiwaokulamanu. The group was born out of the Kawaihuelani Center for Hawaiian Language under the guidance of UH Mānoa Associate Professor and respected Kumu Hula Keawe Lopes.

The Tuahine Troupe is comprised of students, alumni and faculty. During the process of recording, Kumu Lopes aimed to teach students the larger purpose of language preservation and expansion.

“Learning the songs, learning the meanings, learning how to build upon those kinds of poetic expressions [of] our kūpuna allows them to further develop their language skills,” Lopes said.

Some of the group’s nominations include Album of the Year, Group of the Year, and Most Promising Artist.

This is the largest event for the Hawaii Academy of Recording Arts. This year, it is happening in conjunction with the Council for Native Hawaiian Advancement.

Below is a full list of the winners:

Copyright 2022 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.