Recap: The 42nd Annual Na Hoku Hanohano Awards

Na Wai Eha performs with Robi Kahakalau at the annual Na Hoku Hanohano Awards.
Na Wai Eha performs with Robi Kahakalau at the annual Na Hoku Hanohano Awards.(Dillon Ancheta (custom credit))
Published: May. 26, 2019 at 1:54 PM HST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HONOLULU, Hawaii (HawaiiNewsNow) - A new round of hoku winners earned their stars Saturday at the 2019 Na Hoku Hanohano Awards.

The evening was filled with many joyous moments at the Hawaii Convention Center as the best in the Hawaiian music community was honored.

The men of Na Hoa took home the hoku award for Group of the Year and Hawaiian Music Album.

First-time winners Na Wai Eha scooped up the award for Most Promising Artist of the Year.

Mark Yamanaka also had another successful year at the Hokus, taking home the awards for Album, Single and Male Vocalist of the Year. He also won the hoku for Island Music Album of the Year.

The night was also an opportunity to reflect on those who paved the way for Hawaiian music.

The academy paid tribute to one of the founders of the Na Hoku Hanohano Awards, the late Jacqueline ‘Honolulu Skylark’ Rossetti.

In Kalapana’s performance, the group honored the life of their founding member, Malani Bilyeu.

Read the full list of winners:


ALBUM OF THE YEAR: “Lei Lehua,” Mark Yamanaka (Hula Kūpuna Productions) Mark Yamanaka and Kellen Paik, producers

EP (“EXTENDED PLAY”) OF THE YEAR: “Keoni Ku,” Keoni Ku (Tribal Treble Records)

HAWAIIAN EP (“EXTENDED PLAY”) RELEASE OF THE YEAR: “He Lani Ko Luna, He Honua Ko Lalo,” Institute of Hawaiian Music UH Maui College (Institute of Hawaiian Music) Keola Donaghy and Joel Katz, producers

SINGLE OF THE YEAR: “Morning Drive,” Mark Yamanaka (Hula Kūpuna Productions)

HAWAIIAN SINGLE OF THE YEAR: “He Aloha Waiau,” Waipuna (Poki Records)

SONG OF THE YEAR: “Lei Lehua,” Mark Yamanaka and Kalikolīhau Paik from Lei Lehua, Mark Yamanaka (Hula Kūpuna Productions)

INSTRUMENTAL COMPOSITION (Composer’s Award): “Life Is,” Kris Fuchigami from Life Is (no label)

MUSIC VIDEO OF THE YEAR: “Waikalua,” Keauhou (Keauhou)

FEMALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Anuhea for Follow Me: Deluxe Hawaii Edition (Sono Record Group/AnuheaJams)

MALE VOCALIST OF THE YEAR: Mark Yamanaka for Lei Lehua (Hula Kūpuna Productions)

GROUP OF THE YEAR: Nā Hoa for Aloha from Nā Hoa (NH Records)

MOST PROMISING ARTIST OF THE YEAR: Nā Wai ‘Ehā for Nā Wai ‘Ehā (NWE Records)


ALTERNATIVE ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Process of, The, Sean Cleland (Sean Cleland Music, LLC)

ANTHOLOGY OF THE YEAR (Producer’s Award): Kalapana: The Original Album Collection, Kalapana (Manifesto) Dan Perloff, producer

COMPILATION ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Songs of C&K, The, Various Artists (Kapono Records) Henry Kapono, First Hawaiian Bank, and Lezlee Kaaihue, producers

CONTEMPORARY ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Beautiful Day, Na Leo (NLP Music, Inc.)

CONTEMPORARY ACOUSTIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Ukulele Sunshine, Papa Ray (no label)

HAWAIIAN MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Aloha From Nā Hoa, Nā Hoa (NH Records)

HAWAIIAN SLACK KEY ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Marketplace, Cyril Pahinui (Pahinui Productions)

HIP HOP ALBUM OF THE YEAR: From Beneath Mt. Ka‘ala, Punahele (no label)

INSTRUMENTAL ALBUM OF THE YEAR: ‘Ukulele Hula, Herb Ohta, Jr. (Neos Productions)

ISLAND MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Lei Lehua, Mark Yamanaka (Hula Kūpuna Productions)

JAZZ ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Ton of Trouble, A, Maggie Herron (Herron Song Records)

METAL ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Jekyll & Hyde, Storm (Tin Idol Productions)

R&B ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Have Fun, Karlie G (Karlie Goya)

REGGAE ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Ekolu Music 3: For Hawai‘i, Ekolu (Waiehu Records)

RELIGIOUS ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Nā Mele Pule. Kenneth Makuakāne (KM Music)

ROCK ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Giant, Deborah Vial Band (North Shore Record Company)



HAKU MELE AWARD (Composer’s Award): “No Ānela ‘Uilani, He Inoa,” Zachary Alaka‘i Lum, from Ua Kō, Ua ‘Āina, Keauhou (Keauhou)

HAWAIIAN LANGUAGE PERFORMANCE AWARD: Keauhou for Ua Kō, Ua ‘Āina, Keauhou (Keauhou)

ENGINEERING AWARD, GENERAL: Allan Thomas for Two Sides to Every Story, Allan Thomas (Black Bamboo Recordings)

ENGINEERING AWARD, HAWAIIAN: Wendell Ching and Sean Na‘auao for Nā Keiki O Hawai‘i, Sean Na‘auao (Maliona Records)


GRAPHICS AWARD: Clarence Lee Design for Ola, Tsutomu Nakai (Wa Taiko THR Inc.)

LINER NOTES AWARD: Chelle Pahinui and Ilihia Gionsion for Marketplace, Cyril Pahinui (Pahinui Productions)

Relive the event in the photo gallery below:

This story will be updated.

Copyright 2019 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.