Warrior football players named to the all-conference first team

Solomon Elimimian
Solomon Elimimian
Greg McMackin
Greg McMackin

By Brian Ojima - bio | email

MANOA (KHNL) - Fresh off their invitation to the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl, the Western Athletic Conference awarded seven Warrior players with first or second team honors.

Leading the way is senior linebacker, Solomon Elimimian, who was named co-defensive player of the year, alongside Jarron Gilbert of San Jose State.

"I thank God for the award and I also thank my coaches and teammates and I feel like the award could've went to a lot of different people," said Elimimian.

Joining Solomon on the first team are offensive lineman, John Estes, defensive back, Ryan Mouton and linebacker, Adam Leonard.

"Adam's my brother and I love him and I feel like he's one of the best linebackers in this league and I feel like he has a great future ahead of him and I love playing with him and just thinking about it, we only have 2 more games until we go our separate ways," said Elimimian.

Warrior head coach, Greg McMackin couldn't be happier for the seven Warrior players who were honored, but was disappointed that defensive lineman, David Veikune wasn't selected to the All-WAC first team.

"If there's a better defensive end out there, I would beg to differ," said Head Coach Greg McMackin.

"He definitely got robbed, just talking to coach right now and he got second team and I feel like he could've easily won defensive player of the year," said Elimimian.

Joining Veikune on the second team are wideout, Michael Washington and defensive lineman, Keala Watson.