Wie disqualified from LPGA Tournament - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Wie disqualified from LPGA Tournament

Michelle Wie Michelle Wie

By Stephen Florino - bio | email

SPRINGFIELD, Illinois (KHNL) - It was a disastrous day for Hawaii's Michelle Wie. But it has nothing to do with what she did on the course.

Michelle had another solid round and was in contention to win this week's LPGA tournament, but she broke the rule that players call the heart of the sport's honor system.

Wie was feeling good after a 5-under 67 in round three of the LPGA's State Farm Classic. However elation turns to devastation, after Wie discovers she's disqualified for improperly signing her scorecard after Friday's second round.

"I don't know what happened to me," said the 18-year old golfer. "Usually, I sign it first. but I forgot to sign the scorecard."

Wie says after she finished Friday's round, she left the scoring tent, and was chased down by volunteers who told her she forgot to sign her card. LPGA officials found out about it after Wie teed off for round three, and told her about the violation afterwards.

""It was an honest mistake," said Wie. "I don't know why or how it happened. but, you know, I just forgot to sign it. It was really unfortunate, but hopefully it won't happen again. It was a good learning experience."

But at what cost. Wie loses out on a chance to notch her first LPGA Tour victory and the money that would've come with a high finish. That money means the world -- even to this young millionaire.

Wie needs to finish in the top 80 on the LPGA money list to earn her card for next year. The chances of that -- just like the future of this former teen phenom -- in question.

Michelle would've been alone at second at 17-under, but her second and third rounds have officially been wiped out.

Up next, the LPGA's Canadian Open in August. That's her last tournament of the year.

Job Link 8 Featured Jobs
Powered by Frankly