DLNR Announces Five-Month Bottomfish Season Closure

HONOLULU (KHNL) -- The Department of Land and Natural Resources announced a temporary closure for bottomfishing in state waters of the main Hawaiian islands.

Fishing will be prohibited for seven Hawaii bottomfish species, which include: ehu, gindai, kalekale, lehi, onaga, opakapaka and hapuupuu.

This declaration is made if the total allowable catch exceeds 178,000 pounds.

A commercial landings data determined that the current fishing season's total allowable catch had been reached in mid-March.

The closure be in effect from April 14 through August 31.