New Maui Fire Chief Announced

Fire Captain Jeffrey Murray
Fire Captain Jeffrey Murray

WAILUKU (KHNL) -- The County of Maui has a new Fire Chief.

The Fire and Public Safety Commission unanimously selected Fire Captain Jeffrey Murray as head of the more than 300-member department.

"This is such an honor and I am humbled by the opportunity to lead the department," Murray said.  "I've watched my father give back to the community as a captain in the State corrections department and I'm proud to walk in his footsteps of public service."

Murray is an 18-year member of the county's fire department, based out of the Kahului fire station.

He began his career with the county at the Lanai fire station in 1989 and has worked in 12 of the 14 districts. Prior to joining the county, Murray served for six years in the U.S. Air Force as a member of the Air Force crash and structural crew.

Murray replaces Fire Chief Carl Kaupalolo, who retired in December.

His appointment takes effect April 15, 2008.