Governor Lingle Approves EZ Designation for Waimanalo

Governor Linda Lingle
Governor Linda Lingle

HONOLULU (KHNL) -- To help stimulate business and economic growth, Governor Linda Lingle has approved the designation of Waimanalo as an Enterprise Zone.

This brings the number of Enterprise Zones statewide to 22, six each in Honolulu and the Big Island and five each on Maui and Kauai.

Businesses in the Enterprise Zones are eligible for state tax benefits, including 100% exemption from the General Excise Tax for seven years.

Each county can select up to six zones, which exist for 20 years.

Hawaii Enterprise Zone Locations:

Honolulu City and County:  North Shore-Ko'olau Loa, Mililani-Wahiawa, Pearl City-Ewa-Central O'ahu Areas, Urban Honolulu, the Leeward Coast and Waimanalo.

Hawaii County:  Hamakua, Hilo-Puna, North Kona, Kau, South Kona and North Kohala.

Kauai County: Lihue and vicinity, North Shore, Kapaa and vicinity, South Central Kauai, West Kauai.

Maui County:  Molokai (entire island), Lanai (entire island), East Maui, West Maui, and Greater Maui.