Governor Lingle Pardons Five in 2007

Governor Linda Lingle
Governor Linda Lingle

HONOLULU - Governor Linda Lingle granted pardons to five individuals in 2007.  

She says the individuals have since "proven their ability to lead law-abiding lives and to be productive members of our community."

Carl Wilbert Dunaway was convicted of an assault in the third degree, a misdemeanor, in 1997. This was his only arrest.  Dunaway was pardoned on January 17, 2007.

Michael Kenji Nakamura's convictions include larceny in the second degree (1966), failure to render aid (1962), burglary in the first degree (1962), malicious conversions (1961) and trespassing (1961).  Nakamura had no other arrests since being discharged from parole in 1969.  He was pardoned on February 28, 2007.

Tami Marie Arndt-Beatty was convicted in 1998 for contempt of court, a misdemeanor.  The incident was her only arrest.  Arndt-Beatty was pardoned on March 14, 2007.

Frederick Anthony Whitney was convicted of driving under the influence (1985 and 1975), assault in the third degree (1975) and disorderly conduct (1975 and 1967).  He has had no arrests or convictions since the 1985 case.  His pardon was granted on March 27, 2007.

Ronald Forsythe Larsen was pardoned by the Governor in 2006 for assault and battery on a police officer and for profanity in 1963.  On April 5, 2007, the Governor approved Larsen's request for a pardon with express authorization, which enables him to possess or use a firearm.  He has had no other arrests or convictions.  

Governor Lingle has pardoned 71 people since taking office.