55th Annual Molokai Hoe

(KHNL) - The 55th Annual Molokai Hoe took place Sunday morning.  111 canoe teams left Haleolono Harbor at 7:30 Sunday morning.  It was a greuling race but the pace was quick.  Chopper 8 captures the action above the race.

Finishing first in a new race record was the Shell Vaa Te Vira team from Tahiti with a finishing time of 4 hours, 40 minutes, 22 seconds.

Second place went to the "Team Opt A" of Tahiti finishing in 4 hours, 43 minutes, and 15 seconds.

And the Koa Canoe Club from Lanikai finished in a time of 5 hours, 40 minutes, and 21 seconds.

Joseph "Nappy" Napoleon's crew came in with a finishing time of 5 hours and 55 minutes.