Six Rainbow Warriors receive all-conference honors

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The Rainbow Warrior volleyball team is still celebrating its win over No. 1 Long Beach State in an instant five-set classic Saturday night, but now they have even more reason to pat themselves on the back as six Warriors were recognized by the Big West Conference for their performances during the regular season.

Four Warriors were picked to the first team as outside hitter Stijn van Tilburg, setter Joe Worsley, middle blocker Patrick Gasman and libero Larry Tuileta were honored for their outstanding performances this season.

Opposite Rado Parapunov was an honorable mention selection while defensive specialist Gage Worsley was named to the all-freshman team.

Long Beach State's TJ DeFalco was named the Player of the Year and UC Irvine's Joel Schneidmiller was Freshman of the Year. LBSU's Alan Knipe was the league Coach of the Year.

Stijn van Tilburg leads the Warriors with 4.07 kills per set average, ranking fourth nationally, while hitting at a .333 clip. Joe Worsley ranks No. 2 nationally in assists per set (11.06) while Gasman leads Hawaii in blocking and ranks No. 10 nationally (1.15).

Tuileta is the team leader in digs with a 2.33 per set average that ranks second in the Big West and 17th nationally. Parapunov, an all-freshman pick in 2017, is second on the team in kills (3.55 p/s) and third in aces (17) and blocking (0.79 p/s). Gage Worsley has eight aces and 36 digs off the bench.

UH will next compete in the Big West Tournament this week in the Walter Pyramid in Long Beach, Calif. The second-seeded Warriors earned a first-round bye and will meet the winner of UC Irvine and UC San Diego in Friday's semi-final round.

Copyright 2018 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.