Rainbow Warrior basketball honors players at awards banquet

Rainbow Warrior basketball honors players at awards banquet
(Image: Hawaii News Now)

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The Rainbow Warrior basketball team held its annual awards banquet Wednesday night at the Hilton Hawaiian Village to recognize the team's standout performers.

The top individual honor went to senior Mike Thomas, who earned the Art Woolaway Most Outstanding Player. Thomas also earned the Riley Wallace Leadership Award.

Thomas led the Rainbow Warriors in both scoring (13.1 ppg) and rebounding (6.0 rpg) in 2017-18. He also topped the Big West in field goal percentage during league games (.588) en route to being named all-league honorable mention.

Junior Sheriff Drammeh earned the Bob Nash Hustle Award for the second straight season. Sophomore forward Zigmars Raimo received the Community Service Award and junior forward Gibson Johnson earned the team's Scholar-Athlete Award.

Brocke Stepteau was named Most Improved Player after shooting 51 percent from the floor, 81 percent from the line and 44 percent from three-point range, the third-best single-season percentage in school history.

The Ah Chew Goo Most Inspirational Award went to Zach Buscher.

2017-18 Award Winners

Art Woolaway Most Outstanding Player Award: Mike Thomas

Riley Wallace Leadership Award: Mike Thomas

Bob Nash Hustle Award: Sheriff Drammeh

Community Service Award: Zigmars Raimo

Scholar-Athlete Award: Gibson Johnson

Most Improved Award: Brocke Stepteau

Ah Chew Goo Most Inspirational Award: Zach Buscher

Copyright 2018 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.