New-look Rainbow Warriors kick off 2018 spring football session - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Rainbow Warriors kick off Spring football

New-look Rainbow Warriors kick off 2018 spring football session

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) -

The 2018 Rainbow Warrior football season is still several months away from kicking off, but head coach Nick Rolovich’s revamped roster and fresh-faced coaching staff hit the ground running on the first day of spring football practice on Wednesday with an energy he hasn’t seen from his team since his return to the program.

“Great enthusiasm,” Rolovich said of his players. “That was a fun practice to be a part of. Lot of mistakes, tons of mistakes. But these guys cared and they’re coming out and practicing hard.”

Mistakes were made by both newcomers and returning players, but Rolovich told reporters after the session that he simply wanted to see his team get adjusted to playing in the run-and-shoot offense – a system that should be entertaining to watch, especially while opposing defenses adjust to the new look. 

Despite the learning curve involved with a new offense, Rolovich and his offensive staff have a familiarity with the system – as does quarterback Cole McDonald, who took most of the first-team reps on Wednesday following the departure of 2017 starter Dru Brown.

“It’s nostalgic. Old guys, bringing back memories of their heyday,” McDonald said of Rolovich and coordinator Craig Stutzman. “It’s a good change.”

The Warriors will look to continue their improvement on both sides of the ball throughout the spring. 

Here’s a look at the team’s complete practice schedule over the coming weeks, which are open to the public:

Spring Football Dates
Wednesday, March 21:  6:00 am
Thursday, March 22: 6:00 am
Friday, March 23: 7:00 am
Tuesday, April 3: 6:00 am
Thursday, April 5: 6:00 am
Saturday, April 7: 4:30 pm
Tuesday, April 10: 6:00 am
Thursday, April 12: 6:00 am
Saturday, April 14: 4:30 pm
Tuesday, April 17: 6:00 am
Thursday, April 19: 6:00 am
Saturday, April 21:4:30 pm
Tuesday, April 24: 6:00 am
Thursday, April 26: 6:00 am
Saturday, April 28: 5:30 pm (Spring Game)

Copyright 2018 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Frankly