Polynesian Football Hall of Fame inducts five new members in star-studded event

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The 2018 Polynesian Football Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony was a star-studded event that included the likes of Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota, Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Juju Smith-Schuster and the five inductees of the Class of 2018.

Herman Clark, Maake Kemoeatu, Manu Tuiasosopo, Kimo von Oelhoffen and Bob Apisa were the latest names enshrined in Polynesian football history at the Sheraton Waikiki earlier Friday night as each player and contributor was honored for their accomplishments to the game of football.

"It's special; it's a privilege," Mariota said before the enshrinement ceremony. "They really laid the groundwork for us. Without their sacrifice, without their determination, what we're doing today wouldn't have been possible."

Also in attendance for the night's festivities was former Mililani quarterback McKenzie Milton, who just lead the UCF Knights to a Peach Bowl victory over Auburn and an undefeated, 13-0 record on the season. Milton was honored for his accomplishments by the Polynesian Hall of Fame.

"To be here for an event like this, it means the world," Milton said. "I'm just very grateful to be apart of it and just to be back."

Copyright 2018 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.