Armed Forces Classic heads to Stan Sheriff Center Friday - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Armed Forces Classic heads to Stan Sheriff Center Friday

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) -

The Armed Forces Classic – a series of Division I men’s college basketball games that are televised from United States military bases around Veterans Day as a morale event for service members – will be staged at the Stan Sheriff Center on the University of Hawaii campus in Honolulu.

The fifth annual State Farm Armed Forces Classic will be held on Friday, Nov. 11, – less than a month before the 75th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor – pitting pre-season ranked No. 10 Arizona against No. 12 Michigan State at 2 p.m. HT (7 p.m. ET) and No. 11 Indiana vs. No. 3 Kansas at 4 p.m. HT (9 p.m. ET) on ESPN.

To provide a safe environment for fans, there will be bag checks at the Stan Sheriff Center gate entrances. Fans are encouraged to arrive early and not bring any type of bag. The arena gates will open at 12:30 pm.

For more game day information, visit the official web site at ArmedForcesClassic.com.

Upper-level tickets are available, but in limited supply. Tickets are $30 (ticket fees will apply) and can be purchased at etickethawaii.com. Tickets may also be purchased by visiting the Hawaii Athletics box office or calling 808-944-2697 (Mon.-Fri. from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.).

Previous Armed Forces Classic games have been played from Ramstein, Germany in 2012 (Connecticut vs. Michigan State), Pyongtaek, South Korea in 2013 (Georgetown vs. Oregon), Aguadilla, Puerto Rico in 2014 (Louisville vs. Minnesota) and Okinawa, Japan in 2015 (Gonzaga vs. Pittsburgh).

The games will be televised on ESPN as part of the network’s America’s Heroes: A Salute to Our Veterans initiative honoring the men and women who are serving and who have served in the United States military, both at home and abroad.

Press Release

Powered by Frankly