2016 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year watch list announced

2016 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year watch list announced

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today the 2016 Watch List for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award.  This award is presented annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity.  Former University of Oregon, and current Tennessee Titans Quarterback, Marcus Mariota was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2014 and former University of Notre Dame, and current Baltimore Ravens Offensive Lineman, Ronnie Stanley received last year's honor.

The winner of the 2016 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on December 7, 2016.  Five finalists will be unveiled on November 17.  The formal presentation of the award will be held at the Celebration Dinner during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend on January 20, 2017.

"It is remarkable that the first two recipients of the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award went on to be drafted #2 overall (Marcus Mariota, 2015 NFL Draft) and #6 overall (Ronnie Stanley, 2016 NFL Draft) respectively," said Jesse Sapolu, Chairman and Co-Founder.  "This award allows us to showcase the tremendous impact that our Polynesian student-athletes are having on the game of football."

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2016-2017 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which includes Coaches Dick Tomey (Chairman), LaVell Edwards, Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, past NFLPA President and Inaugural Inductee Kevin Mawae, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, NFL player personnel legend Gil Brandt and Honolulu Sportscaster Robert Kekaula.



Ricky Ali'ifua - Utah State - DL - Senior

Tueni Lupeamanu - Idaho - DL - Senior

Isaac Asiata - Utah - OL - Senior

Damien Mama - USC - OL - Junior

Asotui Eli - Hawai'i - Center - Soph

Brandon Manosalvas - Buffalo - OL - Junior

Salesa Faraimo - Nevada - DL - Senior

Hercules Mata'afa - Washington State - DE - Soph

Breiden Fehoko - Texas Tech - DL - Soph

Christian Matau - East Carolina - OL - Junior

Salamo Fiso - Arizona State - LB - Senior

Viliami Moeakiola - Arizona State - LB - Senior

Randall Goforth - UCLA - DB - Soph

Kai Nacua - BYU - DB - Senior

Cole Hikutini - Louisville - TE - Senior

Olive Sagapolu - Wisconsin - DT - Soph

Nate Iese - UCLA - TE/FB - Senior

Dru Samia - Oklahoma - OL - Soph

Canton Kaumatule - Oregon - DL - Soph

JuJu Smith-Schuster - USC - WR - Junior

Harvey Langi - BYU - LB - Senior

Anu Solomon - Arizona - QB - Junior

Inoke Langi - Texas State - TE/LS - Soph

Logan Taele - BYU - DL - Senior

Ului Lapuaho - BYU - OL - Junior

Christian Tago - San Jose State - LB - Senior

Darrin Laufasa - UTEP - FB - Senior

Pita Taumoepenu - Utah - DE - Senior

Sefo Liufau - Colorado - QB - Senior

Sae Tautu - BYU - DL - Senior

Toa Lobendahn - USC - OL - Junior

Jahlani Tavai - Hawai'i - LB - Soph

Tau Lotulelei - UNLV - LB - Senior

Maea Teuhema - LSU - OL - Soph

Lowell Lotulelei - Utah - DT - Junior

Travis Tuiloma - BYU - DL - Senior

Shalom Luani - Washington State - Safety - Senior

Josh Tupou - Colorado - DL - Senior

The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia's greatest players, coaches and contributors. As a 501(C)(3) non-profit organization, the Hall of Fame serves as a resource for Polynesian football history, provides scholarships for Polynesian student-athletes and supports educational programs for Polynesian youth.