YWCA honors women leaders

YWCA honors women leaders

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - By: Jolanie Martinez

The Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) honored four extraordinary women leaders in their 39th annual Leader Luncheon on Tuesday.

The group recognizes women who demonstrate the mission of the YWCA through their professions and community.

The 2016 honorees are:

Former state representative Marilyn B. Lee, who has held various leadership positions. These positions include co-chair of the Women's Legislative Caucus and the Kupuna Caucus, Oahu Commissioner for the Commission on the Status of Women, Vice Chair of the Judiciary Committee, and the Director for the Hawaii Center for Missing Children. As a veteran and nurse, she has received numerous awards including the Community Leadership Award from Planned Parenthood.

Helen Tanabe Nakano, the co-founder of Malama Manoa, a community organization that preserves, protects, and enhances Manoa Valley. Through this organization, she led the Kuleana Project that focused on educating children and their parents about water conservation. Nakano also runs her own business called Hanafuda, a traditional card game that was created to bridge generational gaps.

Donna Tanoue, who is currently the Vice Chair Bank of Hawaii Corporation and Bank of Hawaii, as well as President of the Bank of Hawaii Foundation. Before Bank of Hawaii, Tanoue has held various leadership positions including Special Deputy Attorney General to the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Commissioner of Financial Institutions for the State of Hawaii, and partner at Goodsill Anderson Quinn and Stifel. Tanoue was also appointed by President Clinton as Chairperson of the U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).

Betty White, the Head of School for one of the largest and oldest all-girls school, Sacred Hearts Academy. She began her educational Career in 1971 as a history teacher and has been the Head of School since 1991. White is the first Hawaii representative to serve as a trustee on the National Coalition of Girls' Schools. She is also a board member of the Hawaii Association of Independent Schools and a member of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accreditation team.

Copyright 2016 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.