Hundreds gather to honor 5 outstanding UH alumni

Hundreds gather to honor 5 outstanding UH alumni

By: Jolanie Martinez

More than 500 University of Hawaii Alumni and friends gathered at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort to honor five outstanding alumni.

Former UH football player and popular Hawaii broadcaster Larry Price received the 2016 Distinguished Alumni Award Lifetime Achievement. Price was inducted into the Sports Circle of Honor at UH. He also hosted a popular morning show with Michael W. Perry. In 1989, Price was named Radio Broadcaster of the Year.

"Knowledge is power and you got to just keep on going," Price said. "You know, forget about all the obstacles and the reasons for not going, figure out a way to go and just keep going."

Recipients of the 2016 Distinguished Alumni Award include:

The president and chief operating officer for First Hawaiian Bank, Eric Yeaman. When he was chief executive officer of Hawaiian Telcom, he helped rebuild the company's profitability. Other positions Yeaman held were the senior executive vice president and chief operating officer of Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc.; the financial vice president, treasurer and chief financial officer of Hawaiian Electric Industries; and the chief operating and financial officer for Kamehameha Schools.

Conrad Nonaka is the director of the Kapiolani Community College Culinary Institute of the Pacific where he trains culinary students through the UH system. He has devoted a lot of his time and knowledge at the culinary institute as chef instructor and also started the popular KCC farmers market.

Jackie Young, Ph.D is a consultant, speaker, lifelong learner and civil rights advocate. She was elected to the state House of Representatives, where she stood up for the Native Hawaiians and the environment and crimes against women and children.

Ernest Takafuji who is the Director of the Office of Biodefense Research, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Md. Takafuji retired in 2015.

Copyright 2016 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.