DOE's heat abatement program aims to cool 33 Hawaii schools

DOE's heat abatement program aims to cool 33 Hawaii schools

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - Hawaii Gov. David Ige on Thursday signed a bill that would allocate $100 million to cool Hawaii's public schools, a longtime issue that's been plaguing classrooms across the state and a major focus in the state Legislature this year.

The state Department of Education is working with the Legislature to install air conditioners in 1,000 classrooms by the end of the year. As part of its heat abatement program, 33 schools have been targeted as high priority to decrease classroom temperatures down to 76 degrees. The program, however, also includes ceiling fans, solar-powered vents to remove hot air and heat-reflective roofs.

The list of schools include:

  1. Ewa Beach Elementary
  2. Ilima Intermediate
  3. Campbell High
  4. Kamaile Academy (Conversion Charter)
  5. Kaimiloa Elementary
  6. Nimitz Elementary
  7. Mokulele Elementary
  8. Pearl Harbor-Kai Elementary
  9. Lehua Elementary
  10. Waimalu Elementary
  11. Aliamanu Elementary
  12. Aliamanu Middle
  13. Waipahu High
  14. Ewa Elementary
  15. Barber's Point Elementary
  16. Waipahu Intermediate
  17. Pearl Harbor Elementary
  18. August Ahrens Elementary
  19. Waipahu Elementary
  20. Waialua High & Intermediate
  21. Leihoku Elementary
  22. Honowai Elementary
  23. Nanakuli Elementary
  24. Nanakuli High & Intermediate
  25. Kaunakakai Elementary
  26. Kilohana Elementary
  27. Manana Elementary
  28. Princess Nahienaena Elementary
  29. Lahaina Intermediate
  30. Lihikai Elementary
  31. Kekaha Elementary
  32. Kahakai Elementary
  33. Maui High

Copyright 2016 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.