Zarkovic, Kanetake named AVCA 2nd-team All-Americans - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Zarkovic, Kanetake named AVCA 2nd-team All-Americans

(Image: Hawaii News Now) (Image: Hawaii News Now)
HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) -

University of Hawai'i men's volleyball outside hitter Sinisa Zarkovic and libero Kolby Kanetake were named to the AVCA Division I-II All-America second team. Both were honorable mention All-Americans last season.
Zarkovic, a senior from Belgrade, Serbia, was a first-team all-MPSF selection who ranks ninth nationally and third in the league in kills per set (4.02). He hit for a career-best .300 clip and posted a career-best 1.57 digs per set while reaching double figures in kills in 22 matches, including seven over 20. Earlier this season, Zarkovic became the 16th player in program history to reach 1,000 career kills and his 1,305 kills ranks eighth all-time while his 2,944 career kill attempts is fifth most.
Kanetake, a second-team all-MPSF pick, averaged 2.27 digs per set, which ranks 16th nationally and second in the MPSF. The Honolulu native finished third all-time in program history with 775 career digs and sixth in dig average (2.34). He posted 10 matches with double figure digs, including a season-high 18 digs, twice.
The 2016 selections were made by the AVCA Division I-II Men's Volleyball All-America Committee: chairperson Dan Friend (Lewis); Sam Shweisky (Princeton), Brian Baise (Harvard), Jay Hosack (George Mason), Pete Hanson (Ohio State), Ryan Perotte (IPFW), Kevin Ring (UC San Diego), Alan Knipe (Long Beach State), Charlie Wade (Hawai'i), David Heller (Mount Olive), Brandon Skweres (Limestone), Ryan Booher (King). The 26th annual award will be presented at the NCAA Men's Volleyball Championship Banquet on the campus of Penn State University, Wednesday, May 4.
A total of 20 student-athletes were selected to the first and second teams while an addition 20 were picked as honorable mention. Five different teams placed three players in this year's AVCA All-American class: BYU, Long Beach State, Stanford, Ohio State and UCLA. There are three players who have garnered their second All-American honor, with BYU's Ben Patch being the lone repeat on the first-team.
LBSU's TJ DeFalco was named the Newcomer of the Year. The Player of the Year will be announced at the NCAA Championship Banquet.

Hawaii Athletics Release

Powered by Frankly