2016 Pro Bowl players announced - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

2016 Pro Bowl players announced

Image courtesy: Chad Asuncion Image courtesy: Chad Asuncion
HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) -

The Carolina Panthers placed a league-best 10 players in the 2016 Pro Bowl presented by USAA, which will be played on Sunday, January 31, 2016 and televised live on ESPN at 7 p.m. Eastern from Aloha Stadium.

The Pro Bowl players were determined by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group’s vote counted one-third toward determining the 86 Pro Bowl selections announced today. Two additional “need” players will be chosen by each head coach and must be long snappers. The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. In 1995, the NFL became the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting.

Players will be assigned to teams through the Pro Bowl Draft presented by USAA, which will air on Wednesday, January 27 on ESPN2 (7:30 PM ET). Two Pro Football Hall of Fame wide receivers – MICHAEL IRVIN and JERRY RICE – will serve as NFL Legends captains for the 2016 Pro Bowl. Irvin and Rice return for the second time after being the winning captains during the previous two Pro Bowls.

Five-time Pro Bowler DARREN WOODSON (Team Irvin) and two-time Pro Bowler ERIC DAVIS (Team Rice) will serve as defensive co-captains. The NFL legends will also each be assisted by two active player captains and one NFL.com fantasy football champion in the draft process.

The Pro Bowl will continue using the revised game format that debuted with the 2014 game, with NFL Legends captains having final say over Pro Bowl Draft decisions. The Pro Bowl will remain “unconferenced,” with several key playing rules changed. Players were selected without regard to conference in voting by fans, coaches and players and will later be assigned to teams via the Pro Bowl Draft.

Twenty-five of the players named to the Pro Bowl today are first-time All-Stars, including three rookies – running back TODD GURLEY of St. Louis, return specialist TYLER LOCKETT of Seattle and cornerback MARCUS PETERS of Kansas City.

The AFC had 38 different players named All-Stars and 48 NFC players were honored.

Twenty-six teams had at least one player selected to the 2016 Pro Bowl and 21 clubs had multiple players chosen as All-Stars.

The 2016 Pro Bowl coaching staffs will be from the losing teams in the AFC and NFC Divisional playoffs with the best regular-season records.

Under terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement, each player on the winning Pro Bowl team receives $58,000, while each player on the losing squad earns $29,000. 

Tickets to the 2016 Pro Bowl are on sale through ProBowl.com. Fans may also purchase individual game tickets through Ticketmaster by calling 1-800-745-3000. Tickets start as low as $30.

Special group ticket packages, including access to gameday and Pro Bowl practice experiences, are also available directly through the NFL. Fans can visit ProBowl.com or call 1-844-4PB-TKTS for more information. 

The 2016 Pro Bowl presented by USAA is an extension of USAA’s Official Military Appreciation Sponsorship of the NFL, which delivers military appreciation experiences to military, veterans and their families at NFL games, training camps and on military bases throughout the NFL season. USAA and the NFL will honor the more than 50,000 military men and women in Hawaii with a number of military appreciation initiatives throughout the week of Pro Bowl. As a reflection of USAA’s mission to support military through its sponsorship, the 2016 Pro Bowl Draft presented by USAA will take place at Wheeler Army Airfield. During the week, USAA will also honor and commemorate the 75th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor.


 (*First-time Pro Bowl selection)




Tom Brady, New England


Tyler Eifert, Cincinnati

Cam Newton, Carolina

Rob Gronkowski, New England

Carson Palmer, Arizona


Travis Kelce, Kansas City

Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay

Greg Olsen, Carolina

Ben Roethlisberger, Pittsburgh

Russell Wilson, Seattle


Jason Peters, Philadelphia


Tyron Smith, Dallas

Odell Beckham, Jr., New York Giants

Joe Staley, San Francisco

Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh

Joe Thomas, Cleveland

Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona

Andrew Whitworth, Cincinnati

A.J. Green, Cincinnati

Trent Williams, Washington


DeAndre Hopkins, Houston

Calvin Johnson, Detroit


Julio Jones, Atlanta


David DeCastro, Pittsburgh

Brandon Marshall, New York Jets

Mike Iupati, Arizona

Zack Martin, Dallas


Josh Sitton, Green Bay


Devonta Freeman, Atlanta


Trai Turner, Carolina


Todd Gurley, St. Louis

Marshal Yanda, Baltimore

Doug Martin, Tampa Bay

LeSean McCoy, Buffalo


Adrian Peterson, Minnesota

Travis Frederick, Dallas


Jonathan Stewart, Carolina

Ryan Kalil, Carolina

Alex Mack, Cleveland


Mike Pouncey, Miami

Marcel Reece, Oakland

Mike Tolbert, Carolina





Ezekiel Ansah, Detroit

NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco


Michael Bennett, Seattle

Luke Kuechly, Carolina


Chandler Jones, New England

Clay Matthews, Green Bay


Khalil Mack, Oakland

Bobby Wagner, Seattle

J.J. Watt, Houston


Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets



Malcolm Butler, New England


Chris Harris, Jr., Denver

Geno Atkins, Cincinnati


Josh Norman, Carolina

Calais Campbell, Arizona


Marcus Peters, Kansas City


Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia

Patrick Peterson, Arizona

Aaron Donald, St. Louis

Darrelle Revis, New York Jets

Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay

Richard Sherman, Seattle


Kawann Short, Carolina

Aqib Talib, Denver




Jamie Collins, New England


Tyrann Mathieu, Arizona


Thomas Davis, Carolina


Reggie Nelson, Cincinnati

Tamba Hali, Kansas City

Earl Thomas, Seattle

Justin Houston, Kansas City

Von Miller, Denver


DeMarcus Ware, Denver

Eric Berry, Kansas City

Kam Chancellor, Seattle

Charles Woodson, Oakland

Copyright 2015 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.
Powered by Frankly