Quiksilver announces invitees for the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau

Quiksilver announces invitees for the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau

Quiksilver and Hawaii's Aikau Family are pleased to announce the official Invitees and Alternates for the 31st Annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau at Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii. The official Opening celebration with the Aikau Family and this year's invited contestants will be held on Thursday, December 3rd, 3pm, at Waimea Bay.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is a one-day big wave riding event with strict wave height requirements; it will only take place when waves meet or exceed the Hawaiian 20-foot minimum (wave face heights of approximately 40 feet). This was the threshold at which Eddie enjoyed to ride the Bay. The event has a three-month holding period that will begin December 1, 2015, and run through February 29, 2016.

"The Eddie" is the original big wave riding event and stands as the measure for every big wave event that exists in the world today. It honors Hawaiian hero Eddie Aikau, whose respect of the ocean, concern for the safety of all who entered it on his watch as lifeguard of Waimea Bay, and the way with which he rode Waimea Bay on its most giant and memorable days. 

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau has only been held a total of 8 times, most recently on December 9, 2009, won by California's Greg Long.

When the contest happens, it can be viewed via a live webcast on the event's official website: www.quiksilver.com/eddie 

NORTH SHORE, OAHU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The 2015/2016 Invitees are: (listed by first name alphabetical order)

Aaron Gold

Albee Layer

Bruce Irons

Clyde Aikau

Dave Wassel

Garrett McNamara

Grant Baker

Greg Long

Ian Walsh

Jamie Mitchell

Jamie O'Brien

Jeremy Flores

John John Florence

Kala Alexander

Kelly Slater

Kohl Christensen

Makua Rothman

Mark Healey

Nathan Fletcher

Noah Johnson

Peter Mel

Ramon Navarro

Reef McIntosh

Ross Clarke-Jones

Shane Dorian

Sunny Garcia

Takayuki Wakita

Tom Carroll

Official Alternates (in seeding order):

Mason Ho (Aikau Pick)

Danilo Couto

Mark Matthews

Koa Rothman

Ben Wilkinson

Jamie Sterling

Billy Kemper

Shawn Dollar

Carlos Burle

Kealii Mamala

Gabriel Villaran

Michael Ho

Kai Lenny

Kahea Hart

Nathan Florence

Damien Hobgood

Kalani Chapman

Ryan Hipwood

Danny Fuller

Nic Lamb

Anthony Tashnick

Rusty Long

Derek Dunfee

Brock Little

Event past winners: 

1984/1985: Denton Miyamura (Haw)  

1986/1987: Clyde Aikau (Haw)  

1989/1990: Keone Downing (Haw)  

1998/1999: Noah Johnson (Haw)  

2000/2001: Ross Clarke-Jones (Aus)  

2004/2005: Bruce Irons (Haw)  

2001/2002: Kelly Slater (USA)  

2009/2010: Greg Long (USA) 

About Eddie Aikau: 

Just 31 years of age when he was lost at sea during an ill-fated voyage on Hawaii's Hokule'a double-hull sailing canoe in 1978, Aikau was a young man at the height of a career equally dedicated to big-wave riding and lifeguarding at historic Waimea Bay. Filled with a pure passion to ride giant surf, take care of his fellow man, and uphold his Hawaiian culture and family values, Aikau became the benchmark by which all big wave riders are measured.