Corey Rosenlee wins HSTA re-election

Corey Rosenlee wins HSTA re-election

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - Different election, same result.

Campbell High School teacher Corey Rosenlee has won a repeat election to become the next president of the Hawaii State Teachers Association. He beat union Vice President Joan Lewis both times.

The results of the original vote were thrown out after Lewis said the HSTA board was worried about a significant number of teachers not getting ballots on time.

Some failed to get email links to vote electronically, while others didn't get paper ballots in time, said Lewis.

Rosenlee contended the actions were motivated by the board not liking that he and other dissidents had won.

Outgoing HSTA president Will Okabe announced the results. A three year term for the new officers will begin July 8, 2015.

Okabe stated current officers will serve through July 7, 2015.

The winners, as announced by the HSTA:

HSTA State President:

Corey Rosenlee, a social studies teacher, Campbell High School

HSTA State Vice President:

Justin Hughey, a special education teacher, King Kamehameha III Elementary School on Maui

HSTA State Secretary-Treasurer:

Amy Perruso, social studies teacher, Mililani High School

NEA Director:

Cliff Fukuda, social studies teacher and coach, Aiea High School

NEA Alternate Director:

Jonathan Gillentine, early learning specialist, Windward District office

Related Links:

Copyright 2015

. All rights reserved.