Hawaii Legislature's top leaders retain posts - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Hawaii Legislature's top leaders retain posts

Associated Press

HONOLULU (AP) - The Hawaii House and Senate will retain their top leaders heading into the next legislative session.

House members voted Thursday to re-elect Speaker Joseph Souki. Senate President Donna Mercado Kim also was selected to continue serving in her post. Both are Democrats.

In the Senate, Governor-elect David Ige had led the Ways and Means Committee and will be moving on. Sen. Jill Tokuda will take over the powerful committee.

The Senate Judiciary and Labor Committee will be led by Sen. Gilbert Keith-Agaran after Sen. Clayton Hee gave up his seat to mount an unsuccessful bid for lieutenant governor.

Sen. Laura Thielen will lead the Water and Land Committee. Sen. Russell Ruderman will take over the Agriculture Committee.

House Democrats will announce committee heads at a later date.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly