All Big Island and Maui County public schools to remain closed Thursday, Friday

All Big Island and Maui County public schools to remain closed Thursday, Friday

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - The Hawaii State Department of Education (DOE) will close public schools through Friday, Aug. 8 on Hawaii Island and Maui County (Maui, Molokai, Lanai). Closures at these schools went into effect at 2 p.m. today. All inter-scholastic athletic events and student activities are canceled at those schools.

Hurricane Iselle is expected to make landfall tomorrow on Hawaii Island.

"We are making these decisions based our latest updates with the State Civil Defense," said Superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi. "We will keep you informed of the latest as it becomes available."

For updated information, follow the DOE on Twitter at @HIDOE808.

Many Hawaii State Public Charter Schools on Hawaii Island and Maui County are also closing their schools in conjunction with DOE closures. For more information on Charter Schools' closures, visit

Many DOE schools serve as emergency shelters; however, County Civil Defense agencies have determined which schools are activated shelters. Please note the following.

Hawaii County designated shelters:
Laupahoehoe Public Charter School
Kohala High & Elementary
Kealakehe High
Konawaena High
Hilo High
Waiakea High
Keaau High
Pahoa High & Intermediate
Honokaa High & Intermediate
Kau High
Waikoloa Elementary
Maui County designated shelters:
Baldwin High
Lokelani Intermediate
Kekaulike High
Hana High & Elementary
Molokai High
Kilohana Elementary
Lanai High & Elementary

Please check with State or County Civil Defense for more information on emergency shelters.

Copyright 2014 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.