Maryknoll repeats as HHSAA D2 baseball champs

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) -
For the second straight year, Maryknoll defeated Kamehameha-Hawaii for the states division two championship; winning 4-0 Friday at the Les Murakami Stadium.

Pitcher Joshua Muneno pitched a complete game for Maryknoll, allowing just one hit. Maryknoll got on the board in the third inning; with the bases loaded, Justin Ushio hit a sharp line drive through the infield, scoring Brent Hironaga to give the Spartans a 1-0 lead.

In the fourth inning Maryknoll struck again, this time the bases were loaded for Michael Nishiki who drove a 1-0 pitch to right field that allowed Philip Aylward to score from third base and Brent Hironaga to beat a throw home from second base, giving Maryknoll a 3-0 advantage.

In the top of the seventh inning, the bases were full for Maryknoll yet again. This time Jason Nakamura grounded to shortstop but out ran a double-play throw at first. That allowed Kyle Abe to score, making it 4-0 Maryknoll.

Micah Carter accounted for Kamehameha-Hawaii's only hit.

The Spartans have now won three HHSAA division two championships since 2009. Their second came last season with a 14-0 win over the Warriors.