94th annual Kamehameha Schools Song contest tonight on KGMB - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Results from the 94th Annual Kamehameha Schools Song Contest

(Photo by Michael Young) (Photo by Michael Young)
Manu Boyd & Keahi Tucker Manu Boyd & Keahi Tucker
HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) -

The following are the results from the 94th Annual Kamehameha Schools Song Contest held on March 21, 2014 at the Neal Blaisdell Center Arena.

The Louise Aoe McGregor Award, named for a member of the first graduating class of the School for Girls in 1897, was first presented in 1972. It recognizes the student director who has made the most significant contribution to the class in organizational ability, leadership, assistance to others, and persistence. 

2014 Louise Aoe McGregor Award Winner:
Jonathan Honda, Men of the Class of 2014 (Senior Men)

The Richard Lyman, Jr., ‘Ōlelo Makuahine (Mother Tongue) Award recognizes excellence in the use of the Hawaiian language within a song. Mr. Lyman, a Kamehameha Schools trustee from 1959 to 1988, was keenly interested in the preservation of Hawaiian language and culture.

2014 Richard Lyman, Jr. Trophy Winners (TIE):
Men of the Class of 2014 and Class of 2014 (Senior men and senior class)

The Kamehameha Schools Boys' Award, George Alanson Andrus Cup was first presented in 1921. Named for the former director of music at Kamehameha School for Boys, Andrus inspired the idea of an annual song contest, and a cup was offered as an incentive in the competition.

2014 George Alanson Andrus Cup Winner:
Class of 2014 (Senior men)

The year 1922 marked the first year that both the Kamehameha boys and girls held song contests. Mrs. E. G. Scoville, a visitor to the Islands from Watertown, Connecticut, was so impressed with the singing of the Kamehameha girls that she donated the New England Mothers' Cup for the School for Girls competition.

2014 New England Mothers' Cup Winner:
Class of 2014 (Senior women)

The Helen Desha Beamer Award recognizes the best musical performance. Donated by the Kamehameha Alumni Association, the award honors the substantial contributions of Helen Desha Beamer to the lexicon of Hawaiian music. Helen Desha Beamer was a 1900 graduate of the Kamehameha School for Girls.

2014 Helen Desha Beamer Award Winner:
Men of the Class of 2014 (Senior men)

In 1967, an additional trophy was offered by the Trustees in honor of Charles Edward King, an 1891 graduate of the School for Boys. The trophy is awarded to the class winning the combined class competition.

2014 Charles E. King Cup Winner: Class of 2014 (Seniors)

 You can catch the encore presentation: March 28 at 6:30 p.m.

This year's event celebrates Kaʻapuni Honua: Songs of World Travel.

Watch Keahi Tucker's song contest preview. (if your on a mobile device click on the 'latest news video' tab on the Hawaii News Now app.

Copyright 2014 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.



Powered by Frankly