6 nominees selected for Hawaii Supreme Court

HONOLULU (AP) - The Hawaii Judicial Selection Commission has selected six nominees for a vacancy on the state Supreme Court.

The commission says Gov. Neil Abercrombie will draw from the list to appoint the judge who will replace retiring Associate Justice Simeon Acoba Jr.

The nominees announced Monday were selected from 16 applicants. They are: Derrick Chan, Jeffrey Crabtree, Craig Nakamura, Richard Perkins, John Tonaki and Michael Wilson.

The Honolulu Star-Advertiser reports Chan, Perkins and Wilson are circuit judges, while Nakamura is chief judge of the Intermediate Court of Appeals, Tonaki is state public defender and Crabtree is a Honolulu attorney.

Acoba is retiring in March, when he reaches the mandatory retirement age of 70.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.