Bows receive postseason honors at Na Koa football banquet

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - University of Hawai'i football head coach Norm Chow announced the 2013 award winners at the annual Na Koa Awards Banquet, Sunday, in a luau-themed event at the UH grass practice field.

All-purpose star Scott Harding was the recipient of the Alec Waterhouse Most Valuable Player Award. The junior from Brisbane, Australia served as the team's starting slot receiver, punter, and punt returner and is a nominee for the Mountain West's Special Teams Player of the Year award.

Harding finished second on the team with 56 receptions for 631 yards; ranked 36th nationally with an 8.3 punt return average, and averaged 40.2 yards per punt while using his rugby-style kicking to help lead the Rainbow Warriors to a Top 25 ranking in net punting.

Senior quarterback Sean Schroeder was the team's offensive player of the year. The Laguna Niguel, Calif., native threw for 2,960 yards and 28 touchdowns in eight starts this season. He eclipsed 300-yards passing six times, including a career-high 499 yards and six touchdowns against Wyoming.

Schroeder started 19 of 23 games during his two seasons at UH after transferring from Duke. He finished his career throwing for 4,832 yards, which ranks seventh all-time in school history. His 39 career touchdowns is sixth-best.

The defensive player of the year was Beau Yap, a junior defensive end who started 11 games and totaled 37 tackles, including 12.0 for loss. The Pearl City, O'ahu native, also had 5.5 sacks, six quarterback hurries and two forced fumbles.

Senior safety Charles Clay earned the special teams player of the year award. The Hilo, Hawai'i native played on nearly every special teams unit while also starting six games at safety. He finished the year fourth on the team with 69 tackles, including 5.5 for loss, one sack, four pass breakups, two fumble recoveries, and one forced fumble.

The Scout Team Award winners were freshman offensive lineman John Wa'a and freshman defensive lineman David Manoa.

The Rainbow Warriors concluded the 2013 season by notching their first win of the season with a 49-42 victory over Army on Saturday.

2013 Award Winners

Alec Waterhouse Most Valuable Player Award: Scott Harding

Offensive Player of the Year: Sean Schroeder

Defensive Player of the Year: Beau Yap

Special Teams Player of the Year: Charles Clay

Scout Team Awards: John Wa'a (offense) and David Manoa (defense)

Copyright 2013 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.