Rainbow Warriors will visit Ohio State in 2015 - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Rainbow Warriors will visit Ohio State in 2015

It's official, the University of Hawaii football team will indeed play one of the most prestigious college football teams of all time Ohio State in a non-conference game in 2015.
     UH will visit the Buckeyes home stadium, The Horseshoe on September 12th of 2015, a game that will push back a previous date with the University of Washington. The Huskies announced Thursday on their website that they've added the Bows' to their 2019 schedule although UH has not officially announced such an arrangement.

     The pay out for playing Ohio State will be great for UH, Jay says the University will receive $1.2 million. Although ecstatic about booking such a high profile opponent, Jay says his top priority is securing home-and-home series, which have been tough to come by.

     "Many of the big schools need home games because of the amount of conference games they get," says Jay.  
     "So they're not willing to travel as much. We're having to go down into our second and third criteria in terms of trying to find opponents and find those willing to do a home and home with Hawaii."

     Jay says UH needs to book at least six home games at Aloha Stadium each season in order to meet budgetary goals, also noting that trying to use the "Hawaii exemption", which allows schools to play a 13th game, has been less appetizing for opponents who usually have the month of December reserved for potential conference championship games.


Future Schedules (2014-2022)


Aug. 30                  Washington

Sept. 6                    Oregon State

Sept. 13                  Northern Iowa

Sept. 20                  at Colorado



Sept. 5                    Colorado

Sept. 12                  at Ohio State

Sept. 26                  at Wisconsin



Sept. 3                    at Michigan

Sept. 24                  at Kansas



Sept. 2                    Kansas

Sept. 9                    at UCLA

Nov. 25                  Brigham Young



Sept. 1                    Navy

Sept. 15                  at Army

Nov. 17                  at Brigham Young



Aug. 31                  Arizona

Sept. 7                    Oregon State

Nov. 30                  Army



Sept. 5                    at Arizona



Sept. 4                    Wisconsin

Sept. 11                  at Oregon State



Sept. 4                    Western Kentucky

Sept. 17                  at Wisconsin

Powered by Frankly