American Athletic Conference Signs Deal with Sheraton Hawai‘i Bo - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

American Athletic Conference Signs Deal with Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl

ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN, announced today that the Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl and the American Athletic Conference have signed a contract for the conference to participate in the Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl three times over the next six years.

The American will send a mutually agreeable selection to participate in the 2015, 2017 and 2019 Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl games. The game will feature a Conference-USA representative in 2014, 2016 and 2018.

In 2015, the American will include the following teams, Central Florida, Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, Navy, South Florida, SMU, Temple, Tulane and Tulsa.

"We are pleased to welcome the American Athletic Conference to the Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl," said David Matlin, executive director, Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl. "The time seemed right to expand our footprint and the American Athletic Conference with 12 teams across 10 states in 2015 is a perfect fit."

This year's Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl will be played on Tuesday, Dec. 24, on Hawaiian Airlines Field at Aloha Stadium featuring a Conference USA team against an opponent from the Mountain West. Kickoff is 3 p.m. HT (8 p.m. ET) and the game will be televised nationally on ESPN.

Last year's Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl featured Fresno State of the Mountain West and SMU of Conference USA. The Mustangs defeated the Bulldogs, 43-10, for their second Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl title in four years and in process, tied an NCAA record for interceptions returned for touchdowns in a season.

"We know that our student-athletes, coaches and fans will enjoy following their teams to Honolulu for the Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl and that they will enjoy one of the nation's great destinations. This bowl will be an exciting experience for one of our deserving teams. Our fans and television viewers will enjoy an extremely competitive game," said Mike Aresco, American Athletic Conference Commissioner.

The Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl, owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, is played at 50,000-seat Hawaiian Airlines Field at Aloha Stadium. The inaugural game was played in 2002, when Tulane defeated Hawai‘i, 36-28. Hawai‘i won the next two bowl games, a 54-48 triple overtime victory over Houston in 2003, and a 59-40 win over UAB in 2004.

The tradition of high scoring, exciting offensive football continued when Nevada defeated UCF, 49-48, in overtime in 2005. The following year, Hawai‘i rallied past Arizona State, 41-24, while East Carolina rallied past Boise State in a thrilling 41-38 victory in 2007. Notre Dame made its only Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl appearance in 2008, defeating Hawai‘i 49-21.

Former Hawai‘i head coach June Jones, returned to the islands for SMU victories in 2009 and 2012, while Tulsa and Southern Miss claimed the Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl trophy in 2010 and 2011, respectively.

Tickets to the 2013 Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl are on sale now. For more information, visit the official Web site:

Powered by Frankly