2013 Diamond Head Classic field announced

The bracket for the 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic – held Christmas week, Sunday, Monday and Wednesday, Dec. 22, 23 & 25, at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, Hawai'i – has been set for the eight competing teams: host Hawaii, plus, George Mason, Iowa State, Saint Mary's, Oregon State, Akron, Boise State and  South Carolina.
ESPNU will carry eight of the tournament games, including all four first-round games. ESPN2 will air the third-place game and the Championship Game on Wednesday, Dec. 25, along with the one of the semifinals on Monday, Dec. 23.
Tournament highlights:
·         ESPNU will show all four first-round games, featuring Iowa State vs. George Mason, Oregon State vs. Akron, South Carolina vs. Saint Mary's and Boise State vs. Hawai'i
·         Six of the eight teams grabbed 2013 postseason berths
The 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men's college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match.
Hawai'i is led by fourth-year head coach Gib Arnold, who welcomes back All-Big West first-team forward Christian Standhardinger and Big West Co-Freshman of the Year Isaac Fotu along with four letterwinners from last year's squad that qualified for the CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament.
Hawai'i, which is guaranteed to play on national television on December 22 and 23 and will face either South Carolina or Saint Mary's in the second round.
Individual session tickets and all-session packages will go on sale to the public on Monday, Sept.23.
The family-friendly tournament and resort destination of Honolulu will host the teams to three days of play, practices and the unique spirit of Aloha from the Hawaiian Islands. Teams will also have the opportunity to attend the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl played during the same week. Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic Web site at www.hawaiianairlinesdiamondheadclassic.com.
The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.
The University of Southern California won the inaugural tournament in 2009, followed by Butler in 2010, Kansas State in 2011 and Arizona in 2012.
Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Schedule subject to change)


Time (HT)



Sun, Dec 22

12:30 p.m.

Iowa State vs. George Mason


2:30 p.m.

Oregon State vs. Akron


6:00 p.m.

South Carolina vs. Saint Mary's


8:00 p.m.

Boise State vs. Hawaii


Mon, Dec 23

9:30 a.m.

Consolation #1


11:30 a.m.

Semifinal #1


4:00 p.m.

Semifinal #2


6:30 p.m.

Consolation #2


Wed, Dec 25

8:30 a.m.

7th-place Game


11:00 a.m.

5th-place Game


1:30 p.m.

3rd-place Game


3:30 p.m.

Championship Game