Hawaii News Now wins 4 Associated Press journalism awards

PASADENA, CA (HawaiiNewsNow) - Hawaii News Now won four Mark Twain Awards from The Associated Press Television and Radio Association Saturday, gaining national recognition for its morning and evening newscasts and coverage of the Stevie Wonder blunder.

The awards honored television and radio stations in 13 western states for their work advancing broadcast journalism.

Hawaii News Now's Sunrise program was honored as best morning newscast for television stations of market size 51 and smaller. News Director Mark Platte, Assistant News Director Scott Humber and Executive Producers Jonathan Saupe and Ryan Wilson shared that honor.

HNN's 6 p.m. newscast was chosen as best evening newscast and former HNN 6 p.m. anchor/reporter Teri Okita won the award as best television anchor.

The award for best coverage of an ongoing story went to HNN for its coverage of the University of Hawaii's failed Stevie Wonder concert and its aftermath that brought criticism to UH leaders. Platte, Humber, Reporter Keoki Kerr and Assignment Editor Brenda Salgado shared that award.

Journalists at AP member television and radio stations in North Carolina, Illinois and Indiana judged the contest entries.

The awards were presented at the Pasadena Convention Center in California Saturday night. They are named for famous author and journalist Mark Twain who said, "There are only two forces that carry light to all corners of the globe -- only two -- the sun in the heavens and The Associated Press down here."

Copyright 2013 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.