Troop 49 Eagle Court of Honor

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - By: Paolo DiGiovanni

On Saturday, March 30, 12 Eagle Scouts from Honpa Hongwanji Mission, troop 49 were honored at their Eagle Court of Honor Ceremony.  Trenton Omuro, Bryce Tsuruma, Javen Nakamoto, Blaise Kapena Lum, Spencer Wakahiro, Samuel Saito, Calen Leonoras, Christopher Gum, Christopher Nakagawa, Evan Uehara, Justin Nakamoto and Ryan Ando all received the highest honor of the American Boy Scouts.

The 12 scouts from 10 schools across Oahu logged approximately 6,826 volunteer hours during their Eagle service projects.  Many of the scouts have been together since their Cub Scout days in the first grade.  Although they finished their requirements at different times, the troop waited for the remaining members to gain Eagle rank so that they could all participate in their Court of Honor together.

Rear Admiral (ret.) Jim McLelland of the US Coast Guard congratulated the Eagle Scouts.  McLelland noted the strength of the Eagle Scouts and leadership qualities.  He was impressed at the gesture the scouts made to wait until they had all fulfilled the Eagle requirements, which was the Eagle Scout thing to do.

Copyright 2013 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.