Six teams commit to 2013 DHC

By Mike Cherry

(HawaiiNewsNow) - Six teams have committed to participate in the 2013 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, Hawai'i.
The field for the fifth annual event includes tournament host school Hawai'i, George Mason, Iowa State, Saint Mary's, Oregon State and South Carolina. 
The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men's college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games through three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through the bracket. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in the championship game on the final day of the tournament.
Previous tournament champions of the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic include USC, Butler and Kansas State. Frank Martin, who led Kansas State to a title in 2011, will make his return to the Classic in 2013 as the head coach of South Carolina.
The family-friendly tournament takes hosts the teams for three days of tournament play, practices, events and travel experiences unique to the islands of Hawai'i. 
Additional information can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic's official Web site
The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television.

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.