Manti Te'o announced as winner of Lombardi Award

Punahou graduate and Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o has been announced as the winner of the 2012 Rotary Lombardi Award, given annually to the best interior player on offense or defense in college football.

The Rotary Lombardi Award is the third prestigious honor bestowed upon Te'o this week. On Monday, he won the Nagurski Award, given annually to the nation's best defensive player, and the Butkus Award, given to the best linebacker.

In winning the award, Te'o beat out Jadeveon Clowney, a defensive end from the University of South Carolina, Barrett Jones, an offensive lineman from the University of Alabama, and Jarvis Jones, a linebacker at the University of Georgia.

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.