Ramsay LIVE: Waikiki Roughwater Swim

(HawaiiNewsNow) - Since 1970 some of the world's top swimmers have come to Oahu to partake in the Waikiki Roughwater Swim, one of the world's oldest and most iconic open water competitions. The 2.384-mile (3.84 km) race takes place on Labor Day, September 3, 2012, beginning at 9:00 am (HST) at Sans Souci Beach between the Natatorium and New Otani Hotel. It will finish at approximately 12 noon on Duke Kahanamoku Beach at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel (elite division finishers expected to cross the finish near 9:45AM).

The race is held in conjunction with the "Swim with Mike," a college scholarship fund for physically challenged athletes. Past scholarship recipients include 2010 Hawaii Pacific University graduate Joe Broc, Keith Kitamura of Kapaa High School and the University of Hawaii, Ann Yoshida of Mililani HS and Utah State University, as well as current student Tusi Mailo of Kahuku HS and BYU-Hawaii.

This year top local swimmers include University of Hawaii's Jayson Hagi (Millani) - who won the 2012 North Shore Open Water Swim Series - as well as, Karmin Chuk (a recent ASU transfer) and NCAA qualifier Taylor Ritenberg. There are also numerous top age group swimmers from local programs competing.

Top USA Junior National Swimmer Becca Mann of Clearwater FL will be another strong contender for the title. Mann, 14, was a finalist in 3 events at the 2012 USA Swimming Olympic Trials - most swimming experts have her on their "one's to watch list". Mann just completed representing Team USA at the Pan Pacific Championships here on Oahu and broke an 18 year old record in the 1500 meter free and she won the 10 Kilometer swim at Waimea Bay.

Again a very strong contingent of Australian National Team swimmers will be competing including 2011 World Championship silver medalist Rhys Mainstone and Cody Grimsey.

USA Masters Swimming superstar Alex Kostich (former All American at Stanford, 3 x Pan American Games Gold Medalist and Masters World Record holder) will compete in his 20th Waikiki Roughwater Swim. Alex has placed in the top 10 every year and has won the event 3 times.

You can watch the swim live online HERE!

Click HERE for more information about the Waikiki Roughwater Swim!

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.