Complete Primary Election results – go to

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - Former Gov. Ben Cayetano will face former Acting Mayor Kirk Caldwell in a runoff election for Honolulu mayor this November. Cayetano had 44% of the vote primary Saturday and Caldwell had more than 29%. Incumbent Mayor Peter Carlisle lost after coming in third.

U.S. Rep. Mazie Hirono won the Democratic primary for an open U.S. Senate seat, setting up a matchup in November between her and former Gov. Linda Lingle. Hirono bested former U.S. Rep. Ed Case on Saturday night to set up the rematch with Lingle, who beat Hirono 10 years ago to become Hawaii's Governor.

In a primary upset Honolulu City Councilwoman Tulsi Gabbard won the Democratic nomination for Hawaii's 2nd Congressional District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Gabbard and former Honolulu Mayor Mufi Hannemann were the best-known Democrats vying for the seat representing suburban and rural Oahu.

Gabbard is a captain in the Army National Guard who served two Middle East tours. She received 55% of the vote, compared with 34% for Hannemann.

Go to to see the complete results from the 2012 Primary Election.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.