Cayetano vs. Caldwell, Hirono vs. Lingle, Hanabusa vs. Djou in General Election

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) - Former Hawaii Gov. Ben Cayetano will face Kirk Caldwell during November's General Election as the two candidates seek to become Honolulu's next mayor.

After the 11:00 p.m. results printout, with 156 of 156 precincts reporting, Cayetano (90,151 votes, 44.76 percent) continued to lead Caldwell (59,452 votes, 29.52 percent) and incumbent Peter Carlisle (50,540 votes, 25.09 percent), who conceded the race to the two other candidates earlier in the evening.

"If you look at those numbers, there's no way I could possibly win, so the game's over," said Carlisle. "Ben [Cayetano] getting into the race caused this result in a lot of different ways, and the other thing is we basically told people the truth and had tremendous transparency, and sometimes it was a truth that they didn't want to hear."

In a stunning upset, Honolulu City Councilwoman Tulsi Gabbard (61,803 votes, 55.14 percent) trounced Mufi Hannemann (38,451 votes, 34.31 percent) in the race to determine the Democratic nominee for Mazie Hirono's vacated seat in the second Congressional district of the U.S. House of Representatives, and Kawika Crowley (8,921 votes, 60.9 percent) bested Matthew DiGeronimo (5,718 votes, 39.1 percent) to win the Republican Party's nomination.

Accompanied on stage by Hawaii Gov. Neil Abercrombie, Gabbard told supporters that her race is "about serving, serving the people of Hawaii, serving the people of our country and the world. This night I would like to dedicate to all of our troops who are serving overseas. They are fighting right now so that we can be here and celebrate democracy, celebrate freedom."

Hanneman conceded the race to Gabbard shortly after arriving on a flight from Maui on Saturday, where he had been campaining during the afternoon.

In the contests to determine which candidates will vie for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Daniel Akaka, Representative Mazie Hirono (132,865 votes, 57.65 percent) defeated opponent Ed Case (94,294 votes, 40.92 percent) for the Democratic nomination, and former Hawaii Gov. Linda Lingle claimed the Republican nomination with 43,637 votes, or a whopping 91.69 percent.

In a speech at her election night headquarters, Hirono thanked supporters, saying "I am so humbled by the hundreds of people who have worked on this campaign. Even today, we had tons of people knocking on doors, sign holding, and I am so humbled by all this support. It's hard not to get emotional. On behalf of the keiki, kupuna and families in Hawaii who are keeping things together, I am honored to be your nominee to the US Senate."

After the results from the second printout were released at around 9:00 p.m., Ed Case told supporters at his campaign headquarters that he had conceded the race to Hirono, who will face-off against Lingle during November's primary election.

As expected, Democrat Colleen Hanabusa (91,308 votes, 84.13 percent) and Republican Charles Djou (25,647 votes, 95.68 percent) became their party's respective nominees to run for the first Congressional district's seat in the United States House of Representatives.

In the races for seats on the Honolulu City Council, Kymberly Marcos Pine (5,209 votes, 36.07 percent) defeated incumbent Tom Berg in District 1, with Ikaika Anderson (19,391 votes, 74.8 percent) winning in District 3 and Joey Manahan (7,047 votes, 57.54 percent) taking District 7. Ron Menor won the race in District 9, with 10,515 votes, or 55.6 percent.

On the Big Island, Billy Kenoi won the primary for the Hawaii County mayor's race with 17,549 votes, or 43.2 percent. He will face Harry Kim, who garnered 14,084 votes (34.7 percent), in November's General Election.

For a full list of primary elections results, click here.

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.