Bracket Announced for 2012 Diamond Head Classic

HONOLULU - (Hawaii Athletics) The bracket for the 2012 Diamond Head Classic – held Christmas week, Saturday, Sunday and Tuesday, Dec. 22, 23 & 25, at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, Hawaii – has been set for the eight competing teams: host Hawaii, plus Arizona, East Tennessee State, Indiana State, Miami (FL), Ole Miss, San Diego State and San Francisco. The times of each game will be released at a later date.

ESPNU will carry eight of the tournament games, including all four first-round games. ESPN2 will air the third-place game and the Championship Game on Tuesday, Dec. 25, along with the one of the semifinals on Sunday, Dec. 23. ESPN3 will have one game and the entire tournament will be available through WatchESPN, accessible online at and through smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider.

"For the first time in event history, the Diamond Head Classic tips off on a Saturday," said David Matlin, Diamond Head Classic executive director.  "It is a great opportunity for families to gather at the Stan Sheriff Center to watch these exciting teams from across the nation.  Having all 12 games shown on ESPN networks is a testament to the quality of this year's field and reflects the growth of the tournament as it enters its fourth year."

Tournament highlights:

  • ESPNU will show all four first-round games (times TBD), featuring Ole Miss vs. Indiana State, San Diego State vs. San Francisco, Arizona vs. East Tennessee State and Miami vs. Hawaii
  • San Diego State is ranked No. 16 and Arizona stands at No. 17 in's early men's preseason top 25 poll
  • Six of the eight teams grabbed 2012 postseason berths

The 2012 Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men's college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match.

Hawai'i is led by third-year head coach Gib Arnold, who welcomes back four letterwinners and two starters from last year's squad.  The Rainbow Warriors placed fifth in the 2011 Diamond Head Classic after going 2-1, which included an upset of nationally-ranked Xavier.

Hawai'i, which is guaranteed to play on national television all three tournament dates, will face either Arizona or East Tennessee State on the second day.

Individual session tickets and all-session packages will go on sale to the public on Monday, Sept.17.

The family-friendly tournament and resort destination of Honolulu, HI will host the teams to three days of play, practices and the unique spirit of Aloha from the Hawaiian Islands. Teams will also have the opportunity to attend the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl played during the same week. Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Diamond Head Classic Web site at

The Diamond Head Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

The University of Southern California won the inaugural tournament in 2009, followed by Butler in 2010, and Kansas State outlasted Long Beach State in 2011.