Hawaii News Now wins Edward R. Murrow award - Hawaii News Now - KGMB and KHNL

Hawaii News Now wins national Edward R. Murrow award

HONOLULU (HawaiiNewsNow) -

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced today the 2012 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners.  Hawaii News Now won for Video Newscast in the Television Small Market grouping.  Anchored by Stephanie Lum and Shawn Ching and produced by Nicole Bento, the newscast cited for this prestigious national recognition was simulcast at 5PM March 11, 2011 on KGMB and KHNL.   HNN titled its coverage, "Disaster in the Pacific."

 A tsunami generated by the devastating earthquake that shook the northeastern coast of Japan the previous evening hit the shores of the Hawaiian Islands before dawn local time on March 11thHNN's newscast focused on extensive team coverage throughout the islands, including live reports from the Kona Coast of Hawaii Island where the surge of the tsunami did the most extensive damage.

"The people of Hawaii share a unique and mutually respectful relationship with the people of Japan, and on any given day we host tens of thousands of Japanese visitors throughout our state.  This was a day we will all remember.  After watching the horrific destruction in Japan, our entire Hawaii News Now team and support staff prepared to cover the unknown threat that was headed our way," said Rick Blangiardi VP and General Manager.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards honor excellence in electronic journalism.   "Winning a national Edward R. Murrow award is a great honor," said News Director Mark Platte. "It is a testament to the hard work our staff does in each and every newscast. I couldn't be prouder of our team."

In all, 67 television, radio and online news organizations were honored with 99 national awards.  In October RTDNA will host this year's award recipients at the 2012 Edward R. Murrow Awards Dinner & Show in New York City.

Earlier this year Hawaii News Now won three prestigious Edward R. Murrow Regional Awards.

The 2012 awards were for Best Newscast, Best Hard News Reporting and Best News Series.

*Best Hard News reporting went to Malika Dudley for her story "Hawaii Tsunami Damage." You can watch the winning entry HERE.

*Best News Series went to Teri Okita for her series on the Royal Wedding, Royal Ties to Hawaii

*Best Newscast: Hawaii News Now at 5 p.m. You can watch the winning entry HERE. The 'Best newscast' was then entered into the national Murrow Awards.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow's pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly