Brooklyn, Kovalyov Earn All-WAC Tennis Accolades

LAS CRUCES, N.M. – The Western Athletic Conference 2012 men's tennis award winners, as selected by the league's head coaches, were announced Thursday at the WAC Tennis Tournament banquet. Jonathan Brooklyn was named First Team All-WAC singles and, with partner Dmytro Kovalyov, was selected First Team All-WAC doubles.

Brooklyn has been on a tear since the WAC season began, winning five of his last seven singles matches. Brooklyn won four straight singles matches toward the end of the season which included a three-set thriller against No. 22 Remi Boutillier of the tournament's top seed Fresno State.

Brooklyn and Kovalyov are currently 6-4 as the Warriors' top doubles duo, with all their matches played at the one. The pair has won four of their last five matches and has dropped just one contest in conference play.

Kovalyov also earned second team all-WAC singles honors. He is tied for the team lead with seven wins and is 6-2 at the No. 3 flight. Kovaylov heads into the WAC Tournament riding a four-match winning streak and has not dropped a set in over a month. He has suffered just one defeat in WAC play.

Remi Boutiller and Jay Udwadia of Fresno State were named Player of the Year and Coach the Year, respectively. Nevada's Moez Echargui was selected Freshman of the Year.

The third-seeded Warriors begin tournament play at 12:00 p.m. MT (8:00 a.m. HT) on Friday against sixth-seeded Utah State. Hawai'i swept the Aggies in the regular season finale for both teams.

2012 WAC Men's Tennis Award Winners

First Team All-WAC Singles

Remi Boutillier, Fresno State

Jean-Charles Diame, Fresno State

Francis Casey Alcantara, Fresno State

Jonathan Brooklyn, Hawai'i

Wessim Derbel, Nevada

Matej Stakne, New Mexico State

First Team All-WAC Doubles

Francis Alcantara and Remi Boutillier, Fresno State

Jonathan Brooklyn and Dmytro Kovalyov, Hawai'i

Jose Bendeck and Cristobal Ramos Salazar, Idaho

Second Team All-WAC Singles

David Ayoun, Fresno State

Dmytro Kovalyov, Hawai'i

Marius Cirstea, Idaho

Abid Akbar, Idaho

Victor Ouvrard, Nevada

Sven Poslusny, Utah State

Second Team All-WAC Doubles

David Ayoun and Zach Leslie, Fresno State

Wessim Derbel and Fernando Sunago, Nevada

Marc Westgate and Luis Ramirez, New Mexico State

WAC Player of the Year: Remi Boutillier, Fresno State

WAC Freshman of the Year: Moez Echargui, Nevada

WAC Coach of the Year: Jay Udwadia, Fresno State

Copyright 2012 Hawaii News Now. All rights reserved.