Danielson, Sisto Receive 2012 Jack Bonham Award

HONOLULU – University of Hawai'i women's volleyball player Kanani Danielson and baseball player Matt Sisto were the recipients of the 2012 Jack Bonham Award in recognition of their outstanding performances on and off the playing field. The announcement was made Tuesday night at the annual Scholar-Athlete Dinner at the Stan Sheriff Center.

The award is given annually to the top male and female senior student-athlete who "best exemplifies the ideals for which Jack Bonham stood for in the areas of athletic excellence, academic achievement, public service, leadership and character."
Danielson was a three-time AVCA first-team All-American and was voted the Western Athletic Conference Player of the Year a record three times. She most recently was awarded the coveted 2011 Lowes Senior CLASS Award given to one senior in the nation from each sport who excelled in the areas of community, classroom, character and competition. Danielson, also a four-time all-WAC selection and member of the WAC All-Decade Team, leaves UH as the all-time leader in kills and digs. She guided the Rainbow Wahine to the NCAA Regional three times and to the Final Four in 2009.
Off the court, Danielson holds a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 and was a three-time academic all-WAC selection. The interdisciplinary studies major is set to earn her bachelor's degree at the Spring Commencement this May. In addition, Danielson has been an active member of the Hawai'i community. She participated in Manoa Makeover and the Kahana Bay Cleanup, and volunteered for speaking engagements at Habilitat drug rehabilitation center and numerous elementary and middle schools.
"Kanani Danielson truly exemplifies what it means to be a student-athlete," said head women's volleyball coach Dave Shoji. "It has been her desire to excel as both an athlete and a person that has made her so successful. As a team captain her junior and senior seasons, she was a tremendous leader both on and off the court and her positive influence on her teammates was invaluable. Our recent team success was in large part due to her and she will be missed."
Sisto, a four-year lettermen for the Rainbows, has been a four-year starter and the team's No. 1 pitcher for the past two seasons. Hawai'i has qualified for postseason play in each of his previous three seasons, and last year won the WAC Regular Season Title for the first time in 18 years. In 2010, Sisto guided the 'Bows to a WAC Tournament title and to the NCAA Tempe Regional championship game. Sisto has won every postseason start of his career, and this season surpassed legendary UH pitcher Derek Tatsuno for seventh all-time in career starts.
Sisto currently has a 3.28 cumulative grade point average and is majoring in finance in the College of Business. He was also a 2011 WAC All-Academic team selection. "I can think of no better ambassador to Rainbow baseball that Matt Sisto," lauded head coach Mike Trapasso. "He is the consummate professional, behaving at all times with character and integrity. Matt is a tremendous representative of his team and the University of Hawai'i and will be very successful in whatever field he chooses."

Considered the most prestigious award in UH athletics, the Jack Bonham Award is named for the late assistant athletics director who was killed in 1974 in a plane crash in America Samoa. Bonham was returning to the islands from New Zealand where he was on a recruiting trip at the British Commonwealth Games.
Previous Bonham Award Winners
               Male                                                             Female
2011       Kealoha Pilares, football                               Emma Friesen, swimming
2010       Andreas "Andy" Weber, tennis                     Aneli Cubi-Otineru, volleyball
2009       Solomon Elimimian, football                         Annett Wichmann, track and field
2008       Colt Brennan, football                                   Kate Robinson, softball
2007       Mark Rodrigues, baseball                             Kanoe Kamana'o, volleyball,
                                                                                     Brittany Grice, basketball
2006       Alfred Reft, volleyball                                     Allie Rowe, golf
2005       Chad Owens, football                                   Jennifer Warnock, sailing
2004       Michael Kuebler, basketball                         Melissa Villaroman, volleyball
2003       Costas Theocharidis, volleyball                    Kate Judd, softball
2002       Predrag Savovic, basketball                        Molly O'Bryan, sailing
2001       Nerijus Puida, basketball                              Andrea Nishioka, water polo
2000       Dan Robinson, football                                 Raylene Howard, basketball
1999       Michael Dartt, baseball                                 B.J. Itoman, basketball
1998       Naveh Milo, volleyball                                    Nani Cockett, basketball
1997       Carlton Oswalt, football                                Angelica Ljungquist, volleyball
1996       Clint Kuboyama, football                              Tania Brunton, basketball
1995       Jason Olive, volleyball                                 Brandi Brooks, volleyball
1994       Jarinn Akana, basketball                             Melanie Azama, basketball
1993       Travis Sims, football                                    Daniele Haia, softball
1992       Shawn Ching, football                                  Heidi McElhanney, swimming
1991       Dane McArthur, football                                Patti Su'a, softball
1990       Jeff Ball, baseball                                         Judy Mosley, basketball
1989       Amosa Amosa, football                                Sandra Budd, swimming
1988       Guy Farrow, swimming                                Reydan Ahuna, volleyball
1987       None                                                             Susan McDaniel, diving
1986       Michael Beazley, football                              Susan Hlavenka, volleyball
1985       Joe Lileikis, swimming                                 Andrea Hawcridge, swimming
1984       None                                                             Rose Thomas, tennis
1983       Larry Goeas, football                                    Joy Minaai, tennis
1982       Brandan Kop, golf                                        Gillian Cooper, tennis
1981       Blane Gaison, football                                  None
1980       Dean Dunn-Rankin, tennis                           Bonnie Gouveia, volleyball
1979       Ron Nomura, baseball                                 Jane Zukaitis, tennis
1978                                  Harris Matsushima, football
1977                       Gerald Ako, baseball; Alex Kaloi, football
1976                             Marilyn Moniz, women's volleyball
1975                              Gene Caranza, men's gymnastics
1974                                       Joey Estrella, baseball